Click here for information regarding 2017-2018 CSO auditions. (Updated 8/11/17)
Read more

Music Educator of the Year Award Finalists

Released February 3, 2017

Word Document


Music Educator of the Year Award Finalists Announced

The CSO is pleased to announce the finalists for its first Music Educator of the Year Award.  One of the finalists will named the Music Educator of the Year at the orchestra’s MasterWorks concert on February 25.  Music Director Gerhardt Zimmermann will present the award on stage at Umstattd Performing Arts Hall.  The Finalists are (in no particular order):


  • Ellen Varn – North Canton City Schools
  • Ralena Dahlheimer – Canton City Schools
  • Arleen Scott – Lake Local Schools
  • Kirk Hofmeister – Canton City Schools
  • Ryan Smith – Perry Local Schools
  • Elizabeth Barkan – Fairless Local Schools
  • Rich Kibler – Lake Local Schools
  • Albert Flowers – Canton City Schools
  • Ronald Varn – North Canton City Schools
  • Sonya Ash – North Canton City Schools

Nominations for the award were open from November-December 15, 2016.  The nominees must be licensed Music Educators in a public, private or parochial school classroom setting in the area served by the Stark County Educational Service Center.  The purpose of the annual event is to promote a greater understanding of and appreciation for music education as well as to honor those individuals who are making a real difference in our community through their dedication to music education.


Contact: Irene Barker

Director of Education & Community Engagement

330-452-3434 x604